Scented Garbage Bag Storage

Garbage bags have come along way in performance, appearance and function and oh yes the smell. Sometime in the last few months I made a sandwich on a few occasions.
While I was chowing down on the sandwich and enjoying it when I would get to the bottom it would taste like a soap or have a perfumed taste. After the first experience and looking for a cause and not finding one I just dismissed it. After the third time ..I know right? ok there is a problem now and I will get to the bottom of it. After searching all over and trying to figure out did we spill something in the pantry? is the bread getting moldy really fast? We started pulling everything in the pantry out to get to the bottom of this mystery. Well what do you know? the bead is always placed right on top of a box of scented garbage bags. Bread is not the only thing that absorbs this aroma. Crackers, anything in plastic wrap, cookies, you get the picture. So we have taken the garbage bags out of the pantry and now stay in the laundry room cabinets away from any food or drink including pet food. Just food for thought when storing scented bags.

Wayne Collier Home Inspections